Serpent Whistle Review

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
JessieK
antispam: No

Serpent Whistle Review

Post by JessieK »

Bill Whedon sent me a brass prototype d whistle and has asked me to do a public review. I told him that I have positive and negative reactions to it, and he told me to go ahead with it. Let me say a little about my qualifications as a reviewer. I am not a professional musician, but I have been an amateur for a long time. I have been paid for singing and for playing whistle and flute. When it comes to sound, I know what I’m talking about. Of course, different people prefer different sounds (Steve Jones likes an airy sound, I like a pure sound). So some of my opinion is biased, as is every opinion. That said, I have played a couple hundred handmade whistles, and there are varying degrees of craftsmanship. Bill wants me to take this review seriously, and so I will. First will be my initial impressions of the design, then my impressions of the finish, and finally, my impressions of the playability.

When I first took the whistle out of the package, I noticed that it is substantial. The brass is thick-walled which makes it a little heavy, but not a problem in and of itself. I rather like the feel of the tubing. I don’t like the smell of brass, but that will not enter into the review, because most people do not have an aversion to brass. Upon initial examination, I noticed the blade and window. These are very well constructed! The angle of the blade is not clear in the following picture, but it looks just about perfect, and the shape of the blade seems to work perfectly with its surrounding walls. I am impressed with this aspect of the whistle. The sides of the window are filed nicely, and the top of the window (fipple side) was not bent or misshapen by the formation of the blade. Again, this impresses me.