pipers grip vs. normal

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
pipersgrip
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

pipers grip vs. normal

Post by pipersgrip »

hi guys, i read that the normal grip is better than the pipers grip. i started playing low whistle first, so naturally i have the pipers grip for playing flute. is that bad? i just cant do normal grip, it is too hard on my hands.
"In prayer, it is better to have a heart without words, than words without a heart." John Bunyan
peeplj
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: pipers grip vs. normal

Post by peeplj »

The Whistle Collector wrote:hi guys, i read that the normal grip is better than the pipers grip. i started playing low whistle first, so naturally i have the pipers grip for playing flute. is that bad? i just cant do normal grip, it is too hard on my hands.
There are some fine flutists who use piper's grip. I wouldn't see it as a problem if it works for you.

One caveat: if you ever play a Boehm-system (silver) flute, don't play with piper's grip as it's bad for the mechanism.

--James
http://www.flutesite.com

-------
"Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending" --Carl Bard
jim stone

Re: pipers grip vs. normal

Post by jim stone »

The Whistle Collector wrote:hi guys, i read that the normal grip is better than the pipers grip. i started playing low whistle first, so naturally i have the pipers grip for playing flute. is that bad? i just cant do normal grip, it is too hard on my hands.
Few people can use 'normal' grip on a low whistle; most people can
do it on a flute. Why do you say you can't do normal
grip on a flute? Because you can't do it on a whistle?
Is that (whistle) what's too hard on your hands?

Do you have some physical/structural difficulty?

Not clear what the problem is. Please explain some more.
daiv

Post by daiv »