My nemesis: b - c# - d

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
jeeves
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

My nemesis: b - c# - d

Post by jeeves »

I'm a novice for sure. I'm playing a regular D whistle. This note sequence kills me. I play "b" (one hole covered) then c# (no holes covered!) then high d (all holes covered). I can hardly ever rely on this last note coming out right. I'm lucky I didn't drop the thing with no holes covered, just resting on my thumbs. Then covering all the holes at once it's never quite right. Any tips on how best to play this cleanly?
anniemcu
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10
Location: A little left of center, and 100 miles from St. Louis

Post by anniemcu »

You asked, Jeeves... :)

A lot of times, the higher D is easier to get cleanly if you leave the top (B)hole uncovered. Try it and see if that doesn't help. It's a common trick used by many, many players.

edited to add: I misssed the part about almost dropping it... I tend to rest my little finger of my right hand below the bottom hole, steadying the whistle throughout my playing... especially needed when playing the C#.
Last edited by anniemcu on Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
anniemcu
---
"You are what you do, not what you claim to believe." -Gene A. Statler
---
"Olé to you, none-the-less!" - Elizabeth Gilbert
---
http://www.sassafrassgrove.com
Cynth

Post by Cynth »

Yeah, it kills me too.