How many tunes do you know by heart?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.

1-5
13%
5-10
7%
10-25
11%
25-50
25%
50-100
11%
100-200
11%
200-500
8%
> 500
13%

Total votes: 71

bayswater
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by bayswater »

Just curious... I've heard of a guitar player living in my area that should know about 500. That's wild :P
Jumbuk

Re: How many tunes do you know by heart?

Post by Jumbuk »

bayswater wrote:Just curious... I've heard of a guitar player living in my area that should know about 500. That's wild :P
Hmmm ... as a guitarist, I have to ask if he actually "knows" them - can he play the melody? If you count being able to play a believable accompaniment to a tune, then I can probably "play" about 500 too - hell, I can play 500 that haven't even been written yet! I can probably only play the melody for about 20 though.
bayswater

Re: How many tunes do you know by heart?

Post by bayswater »

Jumbuk wrote:
bayswater wrote:Just curious... I've heard of a guitar player living in my area that should know about 500. That's wild :P
Hmmm ... as a guitarist, I have to ask if he actually "knows" them - can he play the melody? If you count being able to play a believable accompaniment to a tune, then I can probably "play" about 500 too - hell, I can play 500 that haven't even been written yet! I can probably only play the melody for about 20 though.
That's true. I don't know; maybe he plays banjo too, I'm not sure. But yeah - I guess there's a difference between knowing the melody part and the accompaniment :) I was told it like he knew the melody part for 500 tunes. That's waaaaaaay in the future for me :) But 1 has clicked the "> 500" option so I guess it's not impossible. I wonder how many the pros know - like Mike Rafferty? :)
Cayden

Post by Cayden »