Hardcore Newbies Only - Silent Night

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
dfernandez77
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: So, please write a little about why you are interested. We're just looking for something that will make it clear to us, when we read it, why you are registering and that you know what this forum is all about.

Hardcore Newbies Only - Silent Night

Post by dfernandez77 »

Ok, so I'm a Newbie - less of one than I used to be and more of one than I will be. I can still remember the holiday season back in 2004, just a couple months after I started playing. I was diligently playing scales, reading my whistle book, and learning "Oat's and Beans." But I really just wanted to learn a Christmas tune.

So this is for all us Newbies. In simple notation, plus a simple recording - I offer "Silent Night." The notation works for any whistle key you have - just cover the number of holes from the top (top is where your face is, haha), blow a little harder if there's a + because the note is in the second octave. Listen to the recording for simple tune timing - it's played about as simply as can be, with no ornamentation or interpretation.

So you can take your whistle and the notation, hide in the room, garage, car, or outhouse where you are learning whistle - I hide in my bedroom. Take a few minutes and noodle out the tune. Play it again, and again. When you feel satisfied you are doing pretty good, pat yourself on the back. Take your whistle out of your hiding place and play the tune for your fish, dog, spouse, flatmate or any other living thing with an interested and tolerant ear.

Here's the notation:

Notation in a PDF file: http://members.cox.net/tofutaco/SilentN ... 0Night.pdf

Sound file for the tune: http://members.cox.net/tofutaco/SilentN ... 0Night.mp3