What's a Good C whistle?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Conund_Rum_07
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

What's a Good C whistle?

Post by Conund_Rum_07 »

Hey,
I check out this site pretty regularly, and finally decided to register. I'm Eric.

Anyways, I've been playing the whistle for about a year and half, and I'm pretty much self-taught. Can't read music either. I consider myself a decent player. Either way, I love playing. So, down to business, as far as C whistles goes, I have a Clarke original with the wood fipple, and I have a Clarke Meg. The Meg seems like a good whistle, but it seems out of tune. Am I wrong? And of course, the wood fipple C is just far too breathy. I was wondering if there might be any other inexpensive C whistles that sound great and aren't breathy as a Clarke or Shaw. Any info is appreciated. Take it easy,
Wilsing

Good Inexpensive C Whistle

Post by Wilsing »

Get yourself a Susato C Whistle. They are inexpensive, responsive, and

very in tune. Good luck!
Kansas

Inexpensive C Whistle

Post by Kansas »

Jerry Freeman tweaks Generations in C as well as other keys. I just got a Bb that is wonderful. His previous C and D are very easy to play as well and prompted me to round out my collection.
I am a new player and play by ear as you do. The Jerry tweaked whistles are a great value and are easy for someone like me to play as he voices them to perform so well. He lists on this forum under his name - so do a search. I don't want to assume to "quote" his current prices, but you will most likely find that he can get it to you shipped in the US for around 40.00 or a bit less. Great whistle for the money and you will find that Generation sizes their tubes "for the job". Each lower whistle has a bigger diameter tube as you lower the key from D to Bb. My C and Bb have an increasingly mellow tone to them from the D which is a real nice whistle in itself.
Hope that helps.