Windwood bamboo flute in Eb - a review

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
AaronMalcomb
antispam: No

Windwood bamboo flute in Eb - a review

Post by AaronMalcomb »

NB: I am by no means a flute expert by virtue of playing experience nor by experience with flutes. I primarily play an Olwell D in bamboo and that will be the basis for much of the review.

The flute was made by William Miller of Windwood Flutes (website unavailable). I heard of William here on C&F via his posts on a thread about bamboo flutemaking. I emailed him and asked about Eb and F flutes. He said he had Eb's that were what he called good-players meaning played well up to the 3rd octave but not a big sound. He said he was working on a batch of honkers and emailed when they were done. After a PayPal transaction I had the flute 3 days later. He's making some F-flutes in his next batch.

Visual Presentation: This flute has a rough-n-ready look to it. It doesn't have the highly polished finish of the Olwell and the bore isn't quite as smooth. The tone holes and embouchure are cleanly finished though not bevelled like Olwell's. There is also a bit of a bow to this piece of bamboo and you can see all of the natural speckles and colors of the bamboo. As you can see in the pic there's a nice, simple motif added. It came with a nice, drawstring bag made of a tapestry-like fabric.

The tone holes are ergonomically offset much smaller than the Olwell's though I don't know if it's design or a function of the pitch. The embouchure is offset too and is oval shaped whereas the Olwell's is more of a rounded rectangle. Addendum: I need to add that the embouchure is also a bit larger. It wasn't a problem for me but others may frown on it.

So it doesn't have the professional look of the Olwell but goes for a more natural look... like a piece of bamboo.