Chanter review - Narrow bore D by David Boisvert

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
liestman
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Chanter review - Narrow bore D by David Boisvert

Post by liestman »

Chanter review - Narrow bore D by David Boisvert (www.greenwoodpipes.com)

To set the stage and allow you to judge my "ability to judge": I am a semiprofessional Northumbrian smallpipes builder with I think a good reputation and knowledge and a passion for making very high quality instruments with lots of precise detail. I have been playing uilleann pipes for about 6 years now and have owned sets by Kirk Lynch and Eugene Lambe and have played for quite a while narrow bore chanters by Davy Stephenson and Brad Angus, with brief exposure to various other well-known flat set makers at tionols and friends living rooms. For a few years now I have played a Kohler and Quinn wide bore D of the Paddy Keenan persuasion and will likely always consider that to be the best chanter in the world.

I specifically wanted a narrow bore D chanter that would be quiet. My wife is a pedal harpist but will also play folk harp, and I wanted a quiet, modern pitch chanter that would be appropriate for playing duets with her harp, and also for practicing when my wide bore D was just too loud. After playing narrow bore D chanters by Stephenson and Angus, and discussing this topic with countless makers and players, I ended up ordering a chanter from Boisvert. As I understand it, his narrow D design began as being based on others work but has now, with this chanter, become his own unique bore design (of course, based on what he has learned from his own work and from studying work of others).

The chanter arrived fairly close to the original promised delivery date (just over 3 months) and came with 3 reeds (recognizing the differences between Minnesota and Houston weather).