Why are Irish sessions so fraught?

For all instruments -- please read F.A.Q. before posting.
sbfluter

Why are Irish sessions so fraught?

Post by sbfluter »

I've been attending an old-time jam for about 2 years now. I was invited by someone at the Irish session. He said come along, it's really friendly. Even though I told him I didn't know how to play my fiddle at all.

After 2 years, I can scratch out a tune here or there on my fiddle. I learned them all during the old-time sessions and very few of them at home off the computer. Everybody there learns the tunes during the session. Somebody starts a tune and by a few times around most people have the gist of it and they're playing it and enjoying it. If you mess up, nobody gives you a dirty look. If you are a beginner and start a tune, they play along with you at your speed.

Why can't Irish sessions be like that? Why are they so scary? Why is learning a tune during the session such a huge no-no? Why are they so fraught with secret glances sent between people and people shunning others for not being virtuosos or for (god forbid) starting a tune they refuse to play anymore? There's so much pressure at Irish sessions!

A beginner Irish musician must resort to learning tunes off the computer. You have to find a tune that's reasonably close to something at the session, then find a way to get it into your computer, find some software to slow it down, struggle to learn because whoever on the CD probably changed the key it was in or is playing it so fancy and so full of variations and ornaments that you aren't sure what the simple basic tune is anymore. You do your best in total isolation and then with a trembling lip at the session, try to toot out something that has as few errors in it as possible and hope people there don't get mad.