Reels? Or so I hope....

For all instruments -- please read F.A.Q. before posting.
Key_of_D
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Reels? Or so I hope....

Post by Key_of_D »

Is Drowsy Maggie a reel? If so, what kind? Single? or Double. I have no clue. All I know is, I've been playing the whistle now for about 21 months, and I just learned drowsy maggie last night in about 30 minutes. So, if it is one, then I can finally play a reel! I know, not that exciting for those who already can, but for me it is. I'm guessing if DM is a reel, then it's probably one of the more easier reels to play.

Eric
Cynth

Post by Cynth »

DROWSY/DROUSY/DROWSIE MAGGIE [1] (Mairgreadin Taimeac/Suantac). AKA and see "Sleepy Maggy/Maggie," "Sleeping Moggie," "Sleepy Moggie," "Pegg in the Settle." Irish, Reel. Ireland; Counties Donegal, Sligo. E Dorian or E Minor ('A' part) & D Major ('B' part). Standard. AB (Cranitch, Feldman & O’Doherty/Byrne, Flaherty, Martin & Hughes, Mulvihill, O’Malley, O'Neill/1850 & 1001, Spandaro, Tubridy): AAB (Kennedy, Roche & Raven): AA’B (Vallely): ABB' (Feldman & O’Doherty/Doherty, O'Neill/Krassen): AABB (Brody, Phillips): AABB' (Sweet): AA'BB' (Reiner): AA’BC (Songer): ABCE (Breathnach). A very common reel, the basic form of which is known to most Irish traditional musicians.

http://www.ibiblio.org/fiddlers/DRO_DRUM.htm

It sounds like a reel with a lot of variations. This is from the Fiddler's Companion. I don't understand some of what I'm reading above there. Someone else who knows more will be along I'm sure. But I'm glad you learned it. :)
SteveK

Post by SteveK »