new piper - used uillean pipe advice

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
gouzou
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

new piper - used uillean pipe advice

Post by gouzou »

hi all
I'm an italian guitarist from Genova, and for a long time I've been attracted by bagpipes world
I've hesitated a long time on buying such an instrument due to prices for non-pakistani stuff, and also to my total lack of training on wind instruments :oops:

Recently I found an used half-set UP, sold reasonably close to home at a reasonable price ( 300€ ) and from a semi pro-musician :o
still, before giving up to sheer excitement and buying an instrument that's not really cheap for my wallet, i wanted some advice from experienced pipers. here is a pic of the instrument - sorry it's a little blurry :

- does anyone know this instrument ?
- do you think 300€ is a reasonable price?
- are there any checks to perform in order to ensure that the pipe, the bag or the reeds are "healthy" ?
- if I understand correctly, someday I'll need reed replacements : are these generic/ easy to find ?
or will I have to identify the pipes maker and buy specific / expensive reeds with both variable delivery time and unknown future availability ?

thanks in advance for your help
Galdrim
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Interested in piping, playing uilleann pipes and some other instruments as hurdy gurdy, cello, and german bagpipes

Re: new piper - used uillean pipe advice

Post by Galdrim »

First of all: Welcome to the forum!

If I were you I would be very careful. I personally think they are probably cheap pakistani pipes --> look at the drone switch, it's huuuuge (most pakistani pipes have gigantic drone switches). I would keep the money and invest it in a practice set of a known maker.

There are lots of good sets for sale on uilleannobsession.com pipers.ie and on this forum!