Periods of learning and long breaks in between

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
nemethmik

Periods of learning and long breaks in between

Post by nemethmik »

How long have you been learning or did you learn Irish piping?
Did you have longer (months or years) breaks between the stages?
What were the reasons of these longer breaks?
Have you decided to give up completely and then eventually decided not to give up?
I am really interested in your story.
Miki
Last edited by nemethmik on Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
PJ
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: ......................................................................................................

Re: Periods of learning and long breaks in between

Post by PJ »

I started learning in 1996, stopped in 1999 (while traveling), started again in 2001. Prior to starting again, I contemplated selling my practice set but decided to keep it. Since starting again in 2001, I've been pretty consistent: I usually practice 2 or 3 times a week.
PJ
tommykleen
Tell us something.: I am interested in the uilleann pipes and their typical -and broader- use. I have been composing and arranging for the instrument lately. I enjoy unusual harmonic combinations on the pipes. I use the pipes to play music of other cultures.

Post by tommykleen »

"started" in '79. Stopped in '79. Started in '80. Stopped in '80. Repeated process for the following 14 years. Grabbed the wheel for good in '94 and, like a Toyota, have not been able to stop since.

I play/practice/continue to learn about 4-6 days a week.

tommykleen
Tommykleen
Well, don't forget to make music.
vanfleet
Tell us something.: I play a full set of Seth Gallagher uilleann pipes, have been taking lessons, listening, and practicing since 1983. Teachers have included Bill Ochs, and David Power.

Post by vanfleet »