Tracking the standard chanter

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
patsky
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Tracking the standard chanter

Post by patsky »

Hello all,
Well its me again bitching about reeds. As many of you know I have been making reeds for many, many years for every type of chanter. On many occasions I have received letters asking if I guarantee reeds. This definitely puts me on the spot. While I am sympathetic too the high cost of reeds and the pocketbooks of pipers, especially beginners, I can only guarantee that a reed will leave my shop in playable condition.

Back in the early 1970s I naively and egotistically believed that I was the worlds answer to reed making. With this character defect I put out the word that I would make a reed for any chanter for $15.00 . Just mail me the chanter and I will fit the reeds. The problem quickly arose when I discovered that I had to make several reeds to get one to fit, and occasionally I would get a chanter that, after making 5, 10-15 reeds and several hours of work, I had to finally give up and I could not charge for my time. That idea disappeared real quick. I also remember that I charged $.50 cents for a reed and got may complaints about the high cost, which is another story.