Pipe plans A.Ginsberg.

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
monkeraimac
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Pipe plans A.Ginsberg.

Post by monkeraimac »

Hello to all, have been reading this great site for a couple of years, have only been attempting to play for a year on a D.Daye half set and am keen to have a go at making my own chanter (am fitter machinist toolmaker by trade) with small workshop on the farm. Have bought the plans by A.Ginsberg and am wondering has anybody had success using these and are there any hidden anomalies with the dimensions given.Any advice on dimensions or alternate sources of information would be greatly appreciated ..thanks to all :)
toofubartoooften
Hans-Joerg
Location: Germany, half an hour west of "Old Brunswick" (Braunschweig < Brunswieck)

Pipe plans A.Ginsberg.

Post by Hans-Joerg »

A general advice: Better use the 3-dimensional thing itself than copy from a plan (nothing said against Mr. Ginsberg´s plans). The measurements always are more precisely to get. Use D. Daye´s hints on his site at making measuring-tools for the inner diameter of the cone. billh´s site that shows how to make reamers unfortunately is closed at the moment. Try to find out _why_ a chanter is great and _why_ a reed is great.
ttoberer

Post by ttoberer »

I have the ginsberg plans and have compared the regulators with the dimensions from david quinns cd-rom for a rowesome set. both the tenor and baritone are within 1 or 2 mm in every dimension! I didnt check the bass. the chanter dimensions are also nearly the same as the famous oflynn rowesome chanter that many makers have based there work on. the slight variations in the rowesome taper are not represented in the ginsberg plans unfortunately, so good luck making it work! only the throat and exit bore are given. :cry:
billh

Post by billh »