Has anyone tried one of those?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
hydromel89
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Has anyone tried one of those?

Post by hydromel89 »

Has anyone tried one of those pipes :

Practice set
Practice set
Half set

Any hint on how they are... you should have guessed by now I'm an absolute beginner and I am inquiring for potential new equipment.

Thanks in advance.

Pascal.
Boody

Post by Boody »

Read the sticky on Pakistani pipes. The first one and the third one are both made in Pakistan.
Whistle Clips (Old, I really need to update these)
mayo_piper

Pakistani pipes

Post by mayo_piper »

It says they are made in Pakistan...know for very nice wall decorations.

So if you want a wall decoration - go for it! otherwise read the FAQS and go to uilleannobsession.com and look under pipe makers or their classified ads....

Good Luck!
"A man's only as old as the woman he feels..."

~Groucho Marx
AaronMalcomb
antispam: No

Post by AaronMalcomb »

The second practice set is the Bagpipes Galore set.

Has anybody ever put a cane reed in one of those chanters and plugged into a hide bag with a wood and leather bellows?

I know popular opinion is less than favorable but I have seen at least one knowledgeable person post that the chanter is serviceable.
Nanohedron
Moderatorer
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Been a fluter, citternist, and uilleann piper; committed now to the way of the harp.

Oh, yeah: also a mod here, not a spammer. A matter of opinion, perhaps.

Post by Nanohedron »

AaronMalcomb wrote:The second practice set is the Bagpipes Galore set.

Has anybody ever put a cane reed in one of those chanters and plugged into a hide bag with a wood and leather bellows?

I know popular opinion is less than favorable but I have seen at least one knowledgeable person post that the chanter is serviceable.