French and piper ?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
SadWolf
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

French and piper ?

Post by SadWolf »

Hi there !

I'm a french student from North of France and I'd love to learn the Uilleann pipe. But where I live, it's a bit difficult !!

I found a method free and in french, "la méthode Guilloux". Do you know it ? Is this a good method ? Is it possible to learn without a teacher ? I couldn't find any where I live.

And I would also like to buy an instrument because right now I'm learning on a Tin whistle, which is a bit less expensive :) .

What would be a good instrument for a complete beginner ? I think I must buy a practice set but I dont know from which pipemaker. As I said, I'm a student so I don't have much money to spend :oops:

Thanks for you help !
Last edited by SadWolf on Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Sorry for this horrible english I'm french !
4.0fig

pipes

Post by 4.0fig »

I, like you, am new to the pipes. I have ordered a practice set from Patrick Sky and should have it by the end of this month. I have learned an enormous amount on this forum. Read all the posts on the "budget sets/pakistani sets" that is on this forum. It will answer many of your questions.

Others on this board have incredible insight and knowledge regarding the pipes, so I can only forward to you what I have learned from them...

Buy a practice set. David Daye, Patrick Sky, The PipeWorks in Boston all make good budget sets. There are some instuctional books and DVDs that you can order to help learn. And one thing us newbies need to do is learn how to adjust and ultimately make our own reeds to be a happy piper...

Like I said, others on this board have a wealth of experience and I will defer to them...I just thought I would pass on what I have learned so far and I haven't even played a note yet.

By the way, your English is fine....100 times better than my French
misterpatrick