Accompanying uilleann pipes

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
PJ
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: ......................................................................................................

Accompanying uilleann pipes

Post by PJ »

I've been playing pipes for about 8 years and guitar for about 20. I remember being very impressed by Davy Spillance "Atlantic Bridge" when he paired up with Bela Fleck on banjo and Jerry Douglas on dobro and produced something completely without precedent.

Since then, I've never really be a major fan of the Lone Piper theory (chanter, drones, regs and absolutely nothing else), always preferring another instrument to accompany the pipes. Guitars and bouzukis are the norm, but recently I've played with a friend who plays cittern and I've come to the conclusion that the mix of tuning and tone of the cittern makes it the best accompanyment for the uilleann pipes.

Has anyone come across interesting collaborations between UPs and other instruments?
djm
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by djm »

This is purely a matter of personal taste. You like Spillane. I can't stand him. You like guitar-like strumming instruments. I think it ruins the rhythm. Other collaborations with pipes are flute/pipes, fiddle/pipes. Still, all a matter of personal taste.

djm
I'd rather be atop the foothills than beneath them.
Joseph E. Smith

Post by Joseph E. Smith »

I spent quite a few years backing up pipes, fiddle, flute, whistles, accordion with guitar and bass. Nowadays, I prefer to hear the pipes unaccompanied, not to say that I don't like accompaniment, but solo pipes are easier to concentrate on, and have an individual beauty that I find irresistable.
Thies

Post by Thies »