Multiple instruments

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
fel bautista
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Multiple instruments

Post by fel bautista »

Wondering out aloud-how many will atest to playing more instruments-guitar, fiddle, whistle, pipes, hammered dulcimer, bohran. In my case, fiddle, guitar, and pipes ( BUT NOT THE MASTER OF ANY!!)

The reason I ask, my thinking is is that playing anoither instrument is akin to speaking/learning another language-(how many R&R lead singers play lead rock guitar, for instance)... so how many are fluent???
glands
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by glands »

I gave up seriously playing the hammered dulcimer about 2 years after I started playing pipes. I plunked around on them until 3 mos ago (now over 6 years into piping) until I took them off the stand...now they rest in peace. (No E sez WhoHoooo!) I also gave up playing the rather annoying thing we call a tin whistle. I have 2 really great HD's and several nice whistles if anybody wants to buy them!

I will likely one day travel down the road with Northumbrian smallpipes for the fun of it but do not anticipate that I will work as hard to become proficient on that instrument....I'll just learn to play the simple yet lovely airs and a few of the nice hornpipes of Northumberland....mainly to add variety...but, as it is, I play Northumbrian tunes on Uilleann pipes so I'm not sure why I want to bother?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!!?
Bill Reeder

Post by Bill Reeder »

I've had my fling with guitar, banjo, mandolin, fiddle, bass, flute, whistle, Northumbrian smallpipes, Scottish smallpipes, Border pipes and Uilleann pipes.