Poor acting student, piper in 2 weeks?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
Sam L

Poor acting student, piper in 2 weeks?

Post by Sam L »

So, my lad Jack is at drama school in London, and he hears that someone has to play pipes in a Friel (I think) play. He offers to lend his dog rough practise set, and has it posted down. He (Jack) can't really play, he's a flute and whistle sort of a guy.

The chap who it has been lent to has some violin ablilty, but has never played any sort of woodwind instrument. He has been given 2 weeks to learn to the standard of a not particularly good piper.

(He has also been instructed to *cough* walk on playing them...)

I get the impression that his tutor thinks he is "not trying hard enough"

So, over to you. On the count of three, how long does it take for a complete beginner to be able to play a tune? Any advance on 2 weeks? Being taught by me giving Jack hints to pass on...

Poor lad!
" . . . when it's finished you look at it and you think that perhaps it will live longer than you, and perhaps it will be of use to someone you don't know, who doesn't know you. Maybe as an old man you'll be able to . . look at it, and it will seem beautiful . . "

Primo Levi - The Wrench
Latticino
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Re: Poor acting student, piper in 2 weeks?

Post by Latticino »

I'm pretty certain that you already know the answer to this question, but certainly the expectations are absurd on the face of it. I would be pretty impressed if he could act convincingly as if he were playing the pipes after a couple of weeks practice (with a recording playing in the background). This is theater after all.

Just keeping the reed working well under these challenging situations will be tough, not to mention getting fingering and bellows/bag action onboard.

And he is going to walk as well as play... hope this is for highland pipes not uilleann.