I must learn Uilleann Pipes for Celtic based metal band

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
Neuromancer
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

I must learn Uilleann Pipes for Celtic based metal band

Post by Neuromancer »

Hi,

Kind of a weird story, so I've been playing guitar and bass for many years, I also sing in a choir and have recorded and toured live in various musical projects. The thing is I am now in a new project which is metal genre at the core, but we are writing a concept album on the story of Boudicca of the Iceni tribe and her retaliation against the Roman raping and killing of her daughters and people, which ultimately ended in her suicide at the point of a Roman "victory".

Anyway, for this project, I have to learn the tin whistle and the uilleann pipes. I already started learning the tin whistle and actually don't find it that bad/difficult since there are many good free resources online, as well I bought a good introductory book from Clarke and it really takes you step by step. Uilleann pipes however, is a different story. I can't find/afford teachers in my area (Montréal Québec Canada) and after a month of playing it still sounds like there is a duck dying in my apartment. I'm starting to wonder what I got myself into, and am questioning whether this instrument is worth me putting the time in to learn. I'm also a full time student so between that and playing in the band and trying to learn the instrument I feels like I'm trying to move the immovable object, I've never had such a hard time learning an instrument before!