Keyless flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
ron4322
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Keyless flute

Post by ron4322 »

Hi, all. A newbie here. New to the forum and to music/woodwind in general.

My 9 year old daughter is learning the Bb clarinet (2nd hand Yamaha 250) - a lesson once per week, and a bit of practise most days. In order to better understand what she is doing, I've bought a 2nd hand Nuvo Clarineo, and trying to teach myself using the clarineo self teach book and cd/dvd, which I am enjoying, although it is fairly slow going., as I have no musical background.

We also have a Yamaha 8-hole fife, and the fife book, just for fun, as well as playing descant recorders. We are both enjoying the fife, and now want to know if anyone makes a similar cheap(ish) instrument, but in a bigger size, ie recorderish fingering, sort of equivalent to a tenor recorder, but blown like a flute.

A search of the internet shows several makers of small 8 hole fifes (eg Yamaha, Aulos, Ferris), but I've not seen bigger versions with this layout of holes, ie with a left hand thumb hole and 4 right hand holes. The only type I've seen are six-hole "irish" type, eg Tipple. Does anyone know of anything like a tenor recorder, but as a flute? Ideally mass produced like the smaller ones, to keep the price down. Or am I misunderstanding the situation - is there some reason why they are not made?
Walden
Chiffmaster General

Re: Keyless flute

Post by Walden »

The 6-hole fingering is just more traditional, for flutes and for fifes too. The recorder-fingering fifes are made by recorder companies as a sort of transitional instrument, and I don't know of anyone doing them in a larger size than soprano. If you're not averse to giving the 6-hole system a try, you can get a cane flute made in India for just a few dollars on Amazon or the like. The tuning may not be 100%, but good enough for you to get the feel for it.