Self Taught, Folk Players...Advice?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
GreySatyr
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Self Taught, Folk Players...Advice?

Post by GreySatyr »

Self taught! The words that Im sure will make many of you cringe...

Yes, I must admit that my goal is to be a self taught folk musician. I'm curious, how many more of you are prowling this forum? The reason I ask is that I would like your advice. I'm wondering how and what you would practice if you could start your entire musical journey all over again? What would you do or not do and what would you change? How I can I avoid the problems that may have plagued you? What sort of things should I be working on that will make me a better player in the long run?

I am a complete beginner and so far I've only been practicing my embouchure, tone production, breath control, and my long notes. Im also listening to my fair share of flute players on youtube. So I think I'm on the right track but give me your thoughts please.

Some things you may need to know, I'm playing a simple system "Irish" flute in the key of D. I also started playing the whistle around the same time so I know the fingerings. I do not have the cash or resources to procure a good teacher (No, I will not! Do not suggest it, if I could I definitely would).

Your advice will be greatly appreciated! Thanks.
NicoMoreno
Tell us something.: I just wanted to update my location... 100 characters is a lot and I don't really want to type so much just to edit my profile...

Re: Self Taught, Folk Players...Advice?

Post by NicoMoreno »