My new baby...

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Jayhawk
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Well, just trying to update my avatar after a decade. Hope this counts! Ok, so apparently I must babble on longer.

My new baby...

Post by Jayhawk »

Well, I've finally fallen for another flute. I think I've been playing an M&E for the past 6 years (originally a 6 key polymer and then for over 4 years now an 8 key ebonite). I've passed up opportunities to buy a ton of excellent flutes (from Firth, Pond and Hall up through several very respected modern makers who shall remain nameless to decrease any chance of needless infighting) because I really liked the M&E, especially the ebonite one. However, I've been fighting ulnar nerve pain in my left arm for over a year now, and I discovered that thinner bodied flutes totally alleviate the pain.

A week ago Jon sent me a flute by a lesser known American maker (actually a German immigrant, but his flutes are classically American in style) Edward Baack. In a cool coincidence, the flute is likely from the same period my house was built - roughly 1870ish. Here is Jon's pic of the flute before sending it to me:

All I can say is wow...the flute rocks. It's cocus, 8 keys, smaller tone holes and bore, but a huge, rich sound. I received it two days before the KC Irish fest, and did something I thought I never would...played it for our two shows at the festival. When I heard it was shipping so close to our gigs, I assumed I'd need a few weeks adjusting to it, but it just fit me perfectly from the start. My kudos for Jon, too, for pairing me with the ideal flute!

Now, I just need a thin bodied, preferably smaller/medium tone holed, delrin or ebonite flute to play out at the KC Renaissance festival...there are just some places I wouldn't want to take such an old flute, and outside, rain, shine or snow, isn't one of them.