Pointing in the right direction

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Rhadge

Pointing in the right direction

Post by Rhadge »

Hello. Complete newbie, coming from whistle.

I just want to be sure that I don't make mistakes in my first months, that I have to spend years to correct afterwards.
Can I experiment freely with embouchure, just like when learning to whistle with my mouth, or should I learn a "correct" (quotation marks since I know there are several) embouchure from the beginning?
Henke
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Re: Pointing in the right direction

Post by Henke »

You can and should experiment freely with embouchure if you ask me. IMO, embouchure is something that cannot be taught. Experienced people can give you pointers and stuff to try, but in the end it's something you will have to learn for yourself what works and doesn't work for you. Your embouchure once developed will be completely unique, because your lips and mouth are unique.

Here's a tip from me, learning embouchure usually works best after a couple of drams of
whisky :)
Rhadge

Post by Rhadge »

Thanks. I was actually expecting something like that, having read previous threads. Just wanted to confirm it.
Here's a tip from me, learning embouchure usually works best after a couple of drams of
whisky :)
I think that would lead to one of those "can only play when drunk" cases. :-)
Gabriel

Post by Gabriel »

Henke is spot on with that. Basically you have to focus an air stream onto the far edge of the embouchure hole. How you do that and to find out which angle of the stream and headjoint work best for you is up to you.

And a learning hint from me: don't overdo embouchure work at the beginning, it tends to be very frustrating sometimes, i.e. you know how you want to sound, but you can't do it. It will come with time.
Rhadge

Post by Rhadge »