A weird issue, saddens me

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Trip-
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

A weird issue, saddens me

Post by Trip- »

Hi all,

I guess if this didn't bother me so much, I wouldn't have posted about it.
For some redicilous strange unexplained reason, for the last two weeks I'm struggling to play the flute.
Before these last two weeks, I was pretty much playing the flute rather "well" with a fine tone - not the best but still a rich tone, something I've been practicing to achieve for many months. I could play sets in weekly sessions without a problem.

Now I can't even get the right tone out of the flute. As if something has changed in me - very suddenly. I lose air very quickly, the flute is not comfortable on my chin, I can't get the correct rich tone - the embouchure is all wrong. I can't play at a session at all - this is the saddest thing that happened to me with the flute! It's so frustrating and dissapointing that I lose will to play the instrument. I'm about the receive my new ordered flute within a couple of weeks, so I hope it will be more forgiving on the embouchure.

I don't understand what's wrong... feels like I've jumped back in time when I only started playing the flute. This has been going on for two weeks, and I'm back to my whistles since then. I believe this might've happened to some of you, but for a day, or two - certainly not weeks, and I'm worried something is wrong somewhere. No matter which position on the embouchure hole I try, it sounds weak and thin - if I suddenly hit the spot, it's only by chance and not solid. My muscles under the jaws feel getting tired of keeping a strange facial-lip figure, something that wasn't there before. All this can't keep me holding the flute on my chin, as if the whole process gets me tired quickly and I put the flute down for rest.

Wanted your insights...

Thanks for reading,
Philip
plunk111
antispam: No