tone hole maths for undercutting

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
hans
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

tone hole maths for undercutting

Post by hans »

Can the undercutting of a tone hole (finger hole) be calculated for the effect on tone (frequency) in respect to first and second octave? I would like to quantify amounts of undercutting, to be able to calculate the relative differences for frequency changes in the upper octave compared to the lower octave. ideally I would like to integrate some formula into a flute making spreadsheet (I have been using an adaptation of Koesel's flutomat with good success in designing cylindrical flutes).

If there are no general formulas, what kind of undercutting would be best for maximum raising of second octave frequencies, but little or no rise of first octave frequencies for a tube with 3mm wall thickness?

Thanks for your interest and help!
~Hans
Feadoggie

Post by Feadoggie »

Can the undercutting of a tone hole (finger hole) be calculated for the effect on tone (frequency) in respect to first and second octave?
I am sure it can. But the math wouldn't be particularly straightforward. You may want to check out this site for some background.

http://www.flutephysics.com/

The author of that site is a member here. I had the pleasure of meeting Nelson at Augusta Irish Week year before last. He's a charming man.

The undercutting subject has recently been discussed on the flutemakers board as well.

http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/flutemakers/

Feadoggie
I've proven who I am so many times, the magnetic strips worn thin.
chas
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by chas »