flute info

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Sovek

flute info

Post by Sovek »

Hi, Im an 18 year old clarinetist and have been playing for some 2 months, but am already quite good at it. I had a hard time choosing which instrument to go at first, Clarinet or flute? Clarinet won out, but I'm looking the prospect of also taking up flute as well. But I know next to nothing about it. A friend who has played the flute for years says the clarinet is easier as far as breath is concearned but I don't buy it. Moving a reed with air has got to be harder than flute which has no reed to block air flow.

Also what is a good intermediate flute, (I made the mistake of buying a cheap clarinet cause I thought I would be stuck at the student level for years) also keep in mind that I seem to quite good at wind instruments, (I have no idea why, I've been trying to figure that out ever since I started playing clarinet)

also is Ebay any good for flutes? I bought both my clarinets off Ebay and saved a ton.

another thing is what method books do you suggest? I would prefer something with more sacred songs such as hymns or the sort.
Chang He

Post by Chang He »

Bear in mind Sovek, that almost everyone here plays exclusively Irish, or "simple system" flute, not the Boehm flute you seem to be interested in. This forum is in fact dedicated to the Irish flute.

As far as breath is concerned, as a former clarinet player myself, I'd have to say that flute is harder. It isn't a matter of force of breath, but control. Clarinet you can pretty much just blow, once you get the basic emboucure down, while flute is much more precise. Use the search function to find out about eBay flutes if you are interested in an Irish one.