Keyed vs Non-keyed

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
cyberspiff

Keyed vs Non-keyed

Post by cyberspiff »

I'm new to flutes so please forgive my silly question.

I have my Doug Tipple tunable flute in D and am starting to get reasonably proficient at it. Well, at least I don't get dizzy anymore :D I'm now starting to think about getting a better flute that I can actually be seen in public with (just kidding Doug) and was wondering about keyed vs non-keyed models. There are just so many possibilities to choose from I get confused. I've tried to find as much on web sites as I can, but there is too much information for me to understand it all.

99% of what I play are session tunes, which I think is pretty much all I'll ever want to play. Is there a reason why I would want to get a 1,2,3,...,n keyed flute to play jigs, reels, hornpipes, etc? I just don't understand the differences between all the keys and such.

I've looked at my flute "bible" web page by Michael Eskin and it seems like the M&E Rudall and Rose Keyless in Delrin is in my price range and may be a good next step for me. I'd appreciate opinions from those with experience. Thanks...
Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way, you'll be a mile from them, and you'll have their shoes.
--Jack Handy Deep Thoughts
Blayne Chastain
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by Blayne Chastain »

You can "get away" with a Keyless and do great... But my deal is... why? When you can get keys! Keys are fun! Rule of Thumb (and you'll be using that thumb for a key!), buy as many keys as you can afford! Uh, but I allready broke that rule... I've got a Copley 8 key coming in the next month or so (more like a month and a half - I'm counting Dave!) and I don't know that I can afford it!