Flute Moisture

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
outdoorwhistler
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: your forum is about celtic and irish music, irish flutes, whistles, etc .
I am here because I too am a huge fan of celtic music.

Flute Moisture

Post by outdoorwhistler »

Dear users, I searched about my problem (which is flute moisture) and I couldn't find very relevant topics. I'll elaborate my problem and I would appreciate if anyone can help me.

I've been playing whistles for three years and most of the time I do not have any problem with my whistles (although I should admit that Im relatively a wet player and that doesnt affect playing the instrument).

but it is months that Im trying to play flute but I have the problem of moisture. By that I mean after 15 minutes or so, the flute particularly under the embouchure gets loads of moisture which eventually unables me to play anylonger.

I wanted to ask whether there is a hydrophobic liquid I can spray inside the head? ( metal section under the embouchure)

Or, the way I play is wet and I should change it ( playing more powerful, diaphragm playing etc,

Best
Terry McGee
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Flute Moisture

Post by Terry McGee »

OK, so we're talking about a wooden flute with a metal-lined head forming a build-up of moisture under the embouchure. I'm imagining that the build-up is in the form of "beading", which then forms a roughened path for the vacillating air-pressure waves to have to negotiate. I'm guessing that that's due to the presence of a hydrophobic substance already on the inside of the metal bore, probably whatever oil or oils that have been used to oil the flute. I'd suggest we try to remove that coating, and see if we can get the excess moisture to run down the flute rather than bead around the embouchure.