Question about Piper's Grip

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
jim stone

Question about Piper's Grip

Post by jim stone »

I sprained my left wrist and so have switched to Piper's, my left thumb on the barrel. This enables an ergonomic grip and a straight wrist. I've been doing this for nearly a year (doctors, MRI, you name it) and I can play with a wrist brace and Piper's. The problem I'm having is that with PG the part of my finger that covers the hole isn't as sensitive as a finger tip, nor is it shaped to fit a hole, and so sometimes I'm not closing the hole completely. Didn't have this problem with the Classical Grip. Welcome comments and advice from folks who are using PG.
malanstevenson
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing the uilleann pipes, flute and whistle for about 18 years or so. I've been listening to Irish and Scottish traditional music for almost 40 years now.

Re: Question about Piper's Grip

Post by malanstevenson »

Hi Jim,
I've always played with PG. Being a piper also, I'm used to using the tip of the ring fingers for the bottom hole for each hand, and the part of the finger between the 1st and 2nd joints for the other flute holes. Covering the holes effectively is partly a matter of muscle memory, of course, but I also find that dry skin makes it harder to seal the holes unless playing in a very humid environment. Living in the arid west, I usually use a hand moisturizer of some kind which helps a lot (also for piping). My go-to is Bag Balm - smells awful, but leaves a somewhat tacky finish on the skin which I like because it lasts longer than standard skin creams. Vaseline would also serve, I'm sure.

Cheers,
Mark
"History...is a record of unjustified suffering, irreparable loss, tragedy without catharsis."
jim stone

Post by jim stone »

Thanks--I hoped a piper would chime in.
pancelticpiper
antispam: No