Inhaling through nose

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Flake Brown
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am new to uillean piping but am keen to learn more. I am a big fan of the playing of Johnny Doran!

Inhaling through nose

Post by Flake Brown »

Hi folks. Ive been reading a facinating book about the health benefits of breathing always through the nose rather than the mouth. Now I know it feels instinctive when playing flute to take sharp intakes of breath through the mouth because it feels easier to quickly fill the lungs...but has anyone here tried getting into the habit of inhaling quickly through the nose? I've been trying this this morning and it feels difficult, but I wondered if any flute players have mastered it and found it advantageous for their breath control overall?
PB+J
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Re: Inhaling through nose

Post by PB+J »

I'm just happy to get through a tune!

I think taking a walk for an hour could confer far more health benefits than plying the flute for an hour, and for me considering the health benefits of playing flute are sort of like considering the vitamin content of chocolate
Conical bore

Post by Conical bore »

Maybe it's due to my geezer age and occasionally stuffed sinuses, but if I tried to draw the same amount of air into my lungs through my nose that I can do through my mouth, you'd hear a loud snort that would be very distracting!

That said, there is one method of nasal breathing used for wind instruments, and that's the "circular breathing" method to play a continuous sound without appearing to take a breath. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Circular_breathing