Rediscovering the flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
de Salier
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I do indeed love whistles, mostly the ones with six holes. And this forum is all about them, small ones, big ones, normal ones, strange ones...

Rediscovering the flute

Post by de Salier »

Hello all,

I have always loved music, played the piano and a recorder when I was young. More then 10 years ago I had a shot at playing the flute (more of a revenge action then passion), but it did not work out, did not have the patience to go through all the exercises, and the flute ended up somewhere behind a lot of other things.

About half a year ago I started playing the whistle, which revived my passion for music, and that's when I thought about the flute that I had somewhere...
...found it, and at first thought about selling it, to finance more whistles, but now I have decided to keep it and give it another go.

I have produced far more sound in the last 10 minutes then I did in that year 10 years ago. So I quite enjoy it.

The flute I am using is the one I got from the School 10 years ago, I believe it is a Yamaha 211. Not brilliant, but fits me for the time to come.

It has been gathering dust for the last 10 years, so might need some cleaning. How should I clean a flute like that? There are some black oxidation stains on it.

And should the rubber seals (that close the holes) be replaced after all this time?

Cheers,
Erwin
To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield
greenspiderweb
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Rediscovering the flute

Post by greenspiderweb »

Hey Erwin,

I say play what you have and if you are enjoying it, all the better. When finances allow, there's nothing to beat the simple system conical flute for that reedy tone, but that can come later.