Learning Scottish Pipes after Uilleann Pipes

The Wonderful World of ... Other Bagpipes. All the surly with none of the regs!
magroibin
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Learning Scottish Pipes after Uilleann Pipes

Post by magroibin »

I've read lots of posts where Highland pipers are taking up Uilleann pipes and looking for direction. I am heading in the other direction in this case, having played Uilleann pipes for over 15 years, of now learning Scottish piping.

I have a set of bellows blown Border Pipes being shipped to me next week but have very little experience with any sort of Scottish piping. I do have a practice chanter and have been working away at basic fingering and simple melodies, however I am a complete newb at ornamentation for the "other" chanter.

So...thoughts?
CHasR

Re: Learning Scottish Pipes after Uilleann Pipes

Post by CHasR »

Well, good luck first off! :thumbsup:
As you now know, they're completely different animals in construction technique & approach.
At this point, just starting off as you are; my sugestion would be not to devote any atention to tunes at all. The fingering technique is so precise, exacting and well researched, that one could easily spend a year or more simply learning the language & placing of GHB gracenotes.

But good news is there's a number of fine learning methods out there, McGillivray's Rhythmic Fingering seems to be the current fave. Generally, most of these methods avoid 'pure' tech exercises (as I was once upon a time taught) and incoprporate tunes to learn at each appropriate level.
BigDavy
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by BigDavy »

Hi magrobin

If you are moving onto border pipes then The Lowland and Borders Piping Society would be the logical starting point. (Scotland's answer to NPU).

They produce an equivelant of the Heather Clarke book for lowland/border pipes called More Power to Your Elbow. You will find it and other publications here.