Is there something wrong with a 100% self-taught violinist?

Our first forum for instruments you don't blow.
Derkk

Is there something wrong with a 100% self-taught violinist?

Post by Derkk »

This is sort of a philosophical question, so I'm not searching for a yes or a no, just any opinion you guys may have. And it goes for all instruments, I suppose.

I teach myself violin. I'm rather obsessed with it, in fact. I can spend 1-2 hours simply sliding my finger down a string and rapidly bowing the scale. Or placing my finger in correct note spots and going from one to the other with absolutely no harmony, just making sound. I have a correct posture, which is the only thing I took out of four 80$ lessons with a professional teacher.

I have a learning disability and have always had to do things my own way in order to understand them.

What in the future do you think I will have missed or ruined in my playing by teaching myself?
awildman
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Re: Is there something wrong with a 100% self-taught violinist?

Post by awildman »

As long as you're a good listener, nothing.

I don't think there is any such thing as self-taught. You learn by listening to others. Those others(even via cd or internet or videos)are helping teach you. No musician I know of lives in a vacuum.
Martin Milner
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Martin Milner »

Do you ever play with other people?

If so, do they ever remark on unusual technique, or maybe ask whey all your notes are different from everyone else's in pitch and length?