My bow is bent

Our first forum for instruments you don't blow.
seisflutes
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

My bow is bent

Post by seisflutes »

It curves slightly towards me as I hold it to play. I don't play well yet, so I figure it's good enough for me at this point. But is it going to be a problem in the future, when I get better? If it gets worse?
Miwokhill

Post by Miwokhill »

I'm not an expert but i've heard this is a problem. I don't know if it's to do with the sound production but i'm guessing that might be it. ...(now I'm thinking i should google 'bent or crooked bow' and see what comes up) I had gotten a fairly inexpensive octagonal stick bow from Scott Cao violins in Campbell because i happened to live nearby but it turns out they are quite a well thought of maker...anyway I think it was only about 50 bucks but that was 3 or 4 years ago. Probably the biggest violin shop overall is Shar music so maybe check them out online. ...I really am happy with the bow I got from Scott Cao though. (although I imagine the idea of a $50 bow will get a chuckle or two not to mention a couple of scoffs!)

Alot of people will say to spend perhaps at least $600 for a bow...I'm sure there is merit to this but again I'm happy with the one I have until I win The Sweeps so to speak.
seisflutes

Post by seisflutes »

This was my sister's bow until she gave up fiddle and gave the fiddle and bow to me. I'm not sure how much the bow cost, but I think it is (or was!) a pretty decent one. Like maybe $200ish.
I don't know how or when it got bent, it's about three years old maybe, and spent at least half of its life sitting in the case under my sister's bed. I've been playing with it for five months now (I also have a cheaper bow that I played with my cheap fiddle for a few months before that), and only noticed the bend recently, but it could very well have been this way since I've had it.
monkey587
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8