Jobs for young adults that provide housing

Socializing and general posts on wide-ranging topics. Remember, it's Poststructural!
emmline
antispam: No

Jobs for young adults that provide housing

Post by emmline »

I need some options.
The military is not an option, as the kid I'm thinking about has a pacifistic nature but an extraordinarily stubborn way of presenting himself sometimes. I don't think getting beat up regularly is a good idea.

Maybe this world has a place for everyone, and maybe it does not. I'm not sure about that. But if college as a means to gain some maturity away from home does not pan out, what other options exist? I don't think I can simply say "off you go..." without some sort of starter plan.

Thoughts?
hans
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

Re: Jobs for young adults that provide housing

Post by hans »

Living and working with children with special needs, for instance in a Camphill community, perhaps?
http://www.camphill.org/
http://www.camphill.org/?p=41

I've worked for a Camphill community as gardener for 14 years, and many young people came through, who had an interest in community life, and a sense of adventure. Often it was a kind of gap year experience, after school and before any further education or training. Some liked it so much they joined the internal Camphill training program. Some even became gardeners. often they learned all kinds of craft skills, apart from people skills.

Or joining an organic farming community, but that may need some farming or gardening skills.

Be prepared to work for no money, or just pocket money, plus food and lodging.
mutepointe
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by mutepointe »

hans is right, it's a great option. he'll get to see another side of life. just be careful he doesn't become a social worker. That's everything that happened to me.