Help! Vancouver birdcalls at dusk.

Socializing and general posts on wide-ranging topics. Remember, it's Poststructural!
s1m0n
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Help! Vancouver birdcalls at dusk.

Post by s1m0n »

My new apartment has held one lovely surprise--on several evenings in the early dusk, I've heard a very musical birdcalling from the window of my office. This gives onto a lightwell with the roof about eight feet up. It's a flat roofed, second storey building. I assume that whatever I'm hearing roosts nearby.

What's driving me crazy is that it's one of 'those' bird sounds, ie, one of the famous ones you hear in movies, etc., but being relatively new to the wet coast, I don't know which bird it is.

I do know that it's not a poor-will; I've just downloaded a clip and that's not it. Does anyone have a better idea?

I'm not good at describing bird calls, but this one is a lowish warble, closer perhaps to a loon's call than anything I can think of, but it's certainly not a loon. It shares that throaty, musical quality, tho. Actually, the timbre isn't a million miles from a wooden flute, now that I think of it.

Four (or so) notes; the first three repeated and the last more emphatic, close to the same pitch, I think. I hear it once only per evening. Last time I heard it (days ago) I looked at the time and it was 7 pm. The internet says that official sunset in Vancouver at this time of year is just after nine, so it's a dusk rather than night caller, at least when I hear it.
And now there was no doubt that the trees were really moving - moving in and out through one another as if in a complicated country dance. ('And I suppose,' thought Lucy, 'when trees dance, it must be a very, very country dance indeed.')

C.S. Lewis
Innocent Bystander

Post by Innocent Bystander »

Blackbird.
"The blackbird sounds his boxwood flute".