The persistence of the Beats

Socializing and general posts on wide-ranging topics. Remember, it's Poststructural!
JS
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

The persistence of the Beats

Post by JS »

I'm working up a course on the Beat Generation (Ginsberg, Kerouac, Snyder...) and popular culture. And I'm looking around for examples of their ongoing influence, or at least influence past their late 50's historical moment. There's some pretty obvious stuff---Dylan, Patti Smith, coffee-house poetry--but I'd be glad for suggestions of anything I might have missed or that might be a bit more subtle. (Maybe you could say that Jack Nicholson's character in "Five Easy Pieces" fits?) Examples from film, design, visual arts welcome.

Thanks in advance.
"Furthermore he gave up coffee, and naturally his brain stopped working." -- Orhan Pamuk
djm

Post by djm »

I'm not an expert by any means, but wouldn't you have to specify and prove each element that you propose is an example that is unique to the Beat Generation? e.g. poetry in cafés goes back at least to the Bohemian movement, so you can't say it is unique to Beat poets. etc.

djm
I'd rather be atop the foothills than beneath them.
Congratulations

Post by Congratulations »

djm wrote:I'm not an expert by any means, but wouldn't you have to specify and prove each element that you propose is an example that is unique to the Beat Generation? e.g. poetry in cafés goes back at least to the Bohemian movement, so you can't say it is unique to Beat poets. etc.
I don't think the argument is that the beats made up the idea of poetry in cafes, but that it was a distinguishing feature of the beat movement.
oh Lana Turner we love you get up
doogieman

Post by doogieman »