Beginner seeking a 'better' Tin Whistle.

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
steven00b
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Beginner seeking a 'better' Tin Whistle.

Post by steven00b »

I'm a beginner and have picked up 4 cheap tin whistles in D: Generation, Walton Little Black Whistle, Walton Brass & a Clarke Celtic (Sweetone). I have made all but the Walton Brass D tunable and filled the hollow section of the fipple with Blu Tack (aka Poster Putty). I also purchased a Generation Bb and am very happy with it.

I am currently learning a few tunes and switching between the D whistles. At the

I have just started playing in the upper octave on the D whistles and I find the sound rather ear piercing and really too loud for playing late in the evening, which is when I get the chance to play. I have been looking around for better made whistles online and have seen the Parks Walkabout Ivory C/D Combi with the variable sound hole for volume and sound control and wonder if this would be a good whistle. Unfortunately there are no music shops near me so I will need to buy online.

I am looking for information from anyone who knows of them, the good and the bad.

I appreciate any advice, thanks in advance.
maki

Re: Beginner seeking a 'better' Tin Whistle.

Post by maki »

There are many fine whistles that are a step up from the cheapies.
Parks is a great one.
I also love Freeman Whistles.

BTW, welcome to the forum!!
Feadoggie

Post by Feadoggie »

I'd agree with Maki. Lot's of good whistles. Parks are good whistles. Cary Parks is a member here.