E or Eb whistle and whistle usefulness rankings.

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

E or Eb whistle and whistle usefulness rankings.

Post by AngelicBeaver »

Which is the most useful for playing with guitar people, or playing with others who are not playing in D or G?

E or Eb

A or Bb?

C?

I'd like to get a few more whistles, but I'd like to pick up some really useful keys. I already have a D and an F. Any recommendations? A list of what you'd buy first, second, third, etc. would be helpful (and why).
Nathaniel James Dowell
Sirchronique
Tell us something.: I like whistles, flutes, lyres, cittern/mandolin/bouzouki family instruments, as well as heavy and nasty slap bass. Languages, linguistics, history (especially Migration Period and Bronze Age Europe), cuisine from various parts of Latin America, chili growing, bushcraft, and the works of JRR Tolkien also tickle my fancy.

Re: E or Eb whistle and whistle usefulness rankings.

Post by Sirchronique »

Of course, a guitar isn't really limited by key the way a whistle is.

If the guitar player were accustomed to playing with a whistler using a D whistle, they just have to capo the first fret and play like normal for an Eb whistle, and the second fret for an E whistle, to raise it a half step or whole step accordingly. I don't think you should be limited by either with a guitar player , though.

I like soprano Eb whistle much more than soprano E, just because the high E whistle is pretty high pitched.