Bass A Whistle project

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Bass A Whistle project

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I'm still in the research phase, but I've been considering making a Bass A whistle out of copper pipe. Has anyone tried this with any success? I know they're quiet, but as long as I can get it pretty balanced and the tone is nice, volume isn't a necessity, and might be nice for indoor playing.

So far, I figured I'd do trials out of pvc and then go for a final version with copper pipe once I had a good idea of what I wanted (although copper might be too heavy for a bass whistle).

So, really, I'm looking for anyone who's gone through the process already and can give me a good idea of hole spacing, sizes, window size, etc.

Thanks to anyone who responds.
Nathaniel James Dowell
kokopelli
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Re: Bass A Whistle project

Post by kokopelli »

I'm pretty sure Daniel Bingamon has made one. I can't remember the lowest one I saw from him but it was way down below most whistles. He tends to experiment a lot with that sort of thing. He also has a wonderful spreadsheet on his website for calculating things like tone hole size and placement. Check it out. I've never made one as lower than low D but the ones I made all used his excel spreadsheet and turned out sounding pretty good.
Check out the story I'm writing
http://theinventorsguild.blogspot.com/
highwood
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Post by highwood »

just lost a too long post - somehow the system logged me out and ate my post