Can you play a C song in D?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Dreamer
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Can you play a C song in D?

Post by Dreamer »

Newbie question. Sorry, I'm still pretty new to sheet music. :oops:

Most songs are written in the key of C right? Can you play a song written in the key of C on a whistle in the key of D? Would it sound that much different? Would I have to change the notes if I recorded keyboard and/or guitar along with it? :-?

Should I just get a whistle in the key of C? (Only have Clarke original D right now) :tomato:

I will appreciate any information that you can give me. :D
Tommy

Re: Can you play a C song in D?

Post by Tommy »

Dreamer wrote:Newbie question. Sorry, I'm still pretty new to sheet music. :oops:

Most songs are written in the key of C right? Can you play a song written in the key of C on a whistle in the key of D? Would it sound that much different? Would I have to change the notes if I recorded keyboard and/or guitar along with it? :-?

Should I just get a whistle in the key of C? (Only have Clarke original D right now) :tomato:

If you are reading music in the key of C, just move each note up to the next note. Now the music will be in the key of D. You can also play in any key with music written in the key of D, just change to another whistle and use the same finger sequence as though your playing a D whistle. The whistle will transpose for you.

And yes by all means get another whistle or several. Then when you have a shoe box full of whistles buy another pair of shoes for another box. There are not many whistle players with only one whistle. :)
Last edited by Tommy on Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
''Whistles of Wood'', cpvc and brass. viewtopic.php?f=1&t=69086
JTC111

Post by JTC111 »

Dreamer wrote:Most songs are written in the key of C right?
I've no idea where you came up with this, but no.