To thumbhole or not to thumbhole - that is the question!

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Cris Gale
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

To thumbhole or not to thumbhole - that is the question!

Post by Cris Gale »

I was recently given a Michael Burke soprano D tin whistle. I instantly fell in love with it and actually took it with me everywhere. Because of that love, when my car was broken into this past friday - it was stolen :(. Soooo now I'm going to buy one for my very own, and I'm wondering if I should get the thumb hole. I'm really leaning towards it, but I'm very new at playing the tin whistle (less than a month) and I'm concerned that it will adversely affect playability. I'm also wondering if simply taping over it would be an option if I find that I don't like it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)
I mostly play the ocarina, but I'm starting to branch out.
Youtube Facebook
I've been playing the tin whistle since March 2012
MTGuru
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Re: To thumbhole or not to thumbhole - that is the question!

Post by MTGuru »

Cris Gale wrote:I'm also wondering if simply taping over it would be an option if I find that I don't like it.
Yep, that's basically it. And welcome!
Vivat diabolus in musica! MTGuru's (old) GG Clips / Blackbird Clips

Joel Barish: Is there any risk of brain damage?
Dr. Mierzwiak: Well, technically speaking, the procedure is brain damage.
Mike Anderson

Post by Mike Anderson »

I gave this some thought recently.

Against a C-natural thumbhole:

You might grow uncomfortable cross-fingering other whistles.
The thumbhole might not be in a natural position for you.
Your thumb must now have the discipline to stay put, which adds tension to the grip.
Who wants tape or tape residue on a beautiful Burke whistle?
Since thumbholes are atypical, perhaps they negatively affect resale value?