Whistle Angle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Whistle Angle

Post by Mikethebook »

As a beginner on the low whistle, indeed any whistle, I'm anxious to learn as much as I can. This question may be pointless or trivial but I'll ask it nonetheless. Most whistle players appear to hold their whistles at about 45 degrees to the body, a postion where the fipple enters and sits naturally in the mouth. However, some, Davy Spillane for one and an Emer Maycock (I don't know who she is but her picture is on page 28 of The Low Whistle Book so she must be someone of note - no pun intended!) hold the whistle almost parallel to the body so that the upper arms are at rest but the fipple enters the mouth at an unnatural angle. Is their more to this than rested arms, I wonder? Can anyone enlighten me on the differences in these approaches or is it purely personal taste?
DrPhill
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Whistle Angle

Post by DrPhill »

Everything affects the whistle tone. The angle at which air enters the windway is one of the many variables that can be used to control the whistle tone. I have not studied those players, but I would not be surprised if the angle of the whistle changed with the note they are playing, the tune they are playing, the whistle they are using, and whether they are posing for a photo.