Digeridoo in Irish/folk music

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
dspmusik
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Digeridoo in Irish/folk music

Post by dspmusik »

I would like to add digeridoo to the Irish group i'm playing in (which obviously isn't traditional), but it seems most digeridoos are in C#. I did find one in D.
having no experience with these, I wanted to check with you guys to see what I should look for, or stay away from. with a little research, i was thinking something like a $30 Meinl synthetic 'doo.
i know there are quite a few of you from down under so...
"By this we know we have passed from death to life: that we love our brothers."
Feadoggie

Re: Digeridoo in Irish/folk music

Post by Feadoggie »

I'm not from the land down under. I'm not an expert on the didgeridoo but I've made a few and enjoy them, as do my children. This all started years ago after meeting the boys from the group "Brother". You should try to make your own. It's actually quite straightforward. Little is required in the way of tools to make a working instrument.

So I'll start by saying that the traditions of the didgeridoo are apparently deep and go well beyond my ability to grasp them. I respect them. I learned a lot in my readings on the instrument and the culture of the people.

So I dabbled in making instruments in various keys to act primarily as drones and to add a percussive qualities to my own music back in the 90's - newagie, folk-rockish stuff. I've gotten well away from that now but here's what I learned.