Foot tapping

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
chrisp
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Foot tapping

Post by chrisp »

Hi,

I've been playing for quite a few years now, but I just can't seem seem to tap my foot along with what I'm playing :-? I've got a pretty good sense of rhythm, It's just doing two things at once i'm not good at. As soon as i start to tap my foot along with my playing, I lose concentration with either the foot or the whistle :twisted: . It even happens when I know a tune so well that i don't have to think about what I'm playing.
I know i don't necessarily need to learn this but I thing it is sometimes an added dimension to a tune.

Anyone have similar problems? Probably mostly men...... women can do many things at once :D

Chris
pipersgrip
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Re: Foot tapping

Post by pipersgrip »

Try starting the tune off with tapping your foot first. Make it a nice slow, steady rhythm. Maybe you can imagine the tune being played to that beat. Then try to play a tune at a slow speed while you are tapping your foot. Don't start over if you mess up, just keep playing to your tapping. Pretend it is like a session, and if you mess up, then it is just a mess up and keep playing. I found now that when I practice tunes I always tap my foot. Practicing with a metronome is great too. Tap your foot with it. Just keep on practicing slowly, and it will come to you in no time. You will start tapping your foot without even noticing. :thumbsup: Just my 2cents.
"In prayer, it is better to have a heart without words, than words without a heart." John Bunyan
ancientfifer
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by ancientfifer »