Irish Washerwoman

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
caedmon
antispam: No

Irish Washerwoman

Post by caedmon »

The song may be over-used, but I like Irish Washerwoman. I have begun learning this classic tune on me whistle. It is a fun song. And there are ample samples on youtube.

This would be my first official jig I am learning.
Chad Wilson

Some whistles, an old fiddle, an old banjo, a bass, a guitar and a bodhran
pancelticpiper
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Re: Irish Washerwoman

Post by pancelticpiper »

It's funny, I've been listening to and playing ITM for 30 years+ and I've never heard a "real" ITM musician play it except on a 78 from the 1920's.

I've actually worked up a flute/whistle version which gives the tune a style which ITM players would find acceptable, I think. I had to rework the tune a bit to make it fit our concept of the structure of ITM.
Richard Cook
c1980 Quinn uilleann pipes
1945 Starck Highland pipes
Goldie Low D whistle
s1m0n
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by s1m0n »

Few tunes are ever overused for being bad. To attain that status, they had to be pretty good melodies in the first place.
And now there was no doubt that the trees were really moving - moving in and out through one another as if in a complicated country dance. ('And I suppose,' thought Lucy, 'when trees dance, it must be a very, very country dance indeed.')

C.S. Lewis
keithsandra
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by keithsandra »

Can we have a look at your tune then, Panceltic Piper? And maybe hear it?

Best wishes.
s1m0n
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by s1m0n »