For an octave lower than whistle, low D or a flute?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Fifthtry
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

For an octave lower than whistle, low D or a flute?

Post by Fifthtry »

I'm new to whistle and have really enjoyed learning Celtic tunes. I'd like to investigate playing an octave lower, which can be done with a low D whistle or with a flute. What are the considerations when choosing between those two choices?

Thanks for any wisdom.

John
Last edited by Fifthtry on Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hoopy mike
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: For an octave lower than whistle, low D or a flute?

Post by hoopy mike »

Try a Dixon polymer low D flute/whistle combo. That way you can try out both instruments for a very reasonable price.

http://www.tonydixonmusic.co.uk/catalog ... nshop.html
see DX022
Feadoggie

Post by Feadoggie »

Fifthtry wrote:What are the considerations when choosing between those two choices?
How well do you tolerate frustration? :)

The flute and low whistle are two different instruments (Doh!). Both are very expressive instruments but in different ways. They can each present their own challenges.

The low whistle is the easier of the two for a rank beginner, IMHO. The primary issue is usually becoming comfortable with the stretch to cover the tone holes. Depending on the size of your hands and fingers that may not be an issue for you. The piper's grip helps many people sort out this issue. It just takes some patience and practice. Another plus with low whistles is that you can work your way down to the low D by buying progressively lower whistles. Start with say a Bb then an A or a G, then an F maybe an Eb and then the low D. It keeps the whistle makers in business too. :D