Low F Whistles

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
hans
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

Low F Whistles

Post by hans »

What is your favorite low F whistle, and why?

I just got a new low F made by Maurice Reviol,
tunable in black anodised aluminium,
which plays nicely, with a strong bottom end and
easy top end. I don't know how to characterize the tone,
it is quite clear with a little bit of "fuzz",
a little less focussed than my Overton low G,
a bit more complex in tone.
I enjoy it, and it likes to played expressively,
if that makes sense.

Cheers,
~Hans
Irish Marine

Re: Low F Whistles

Post by Irish Marine »

Makes perfect sense as I have a Reviol low F myself. Great, great whistle. Love it!
pipersgrip

Post by pipersgrip »

I have always heard great things about the MK low F.
"In prayer, it is better to have a heart without words, than words without a heart." John Bunyan
hans
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

Post by hans »

I found this old thread about F whistles:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=833
but it does not discuss specific F whistles.

There must be players here who enjoy their low F whistle.
Please let us know about it!
Tommy

Post by Tommy »

My low F is a Chieftain OS low C that with one cross finger plays in the key of F. The tone is very smooth, and I will always have this whistle. :thumbsup:
''Whistles of Wood'', cpvc and brass. viewtopic.php?f=1&t=69086
Steamwalker

Post by Steamwalker »

Here are some other posts on the subject:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=61431
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=58574
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=47361
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=45999
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=39558
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33447