First public performance on whistle!

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
charlie_butterworth
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

First public performance on whistle!

Post by charlie_butterworth »

I can only play a few tunes as I am new to the whistle.

But a couple of weeks ago, I played outdoors for the first time. My family and I were driving on vacation up to northern Colorado. Our first night was spent camping in northern Arizona at the Navajo National Monument near Kayenta. Once we'd eaten and put the baby to bed in the tent, I ventured to pull out one of my high D whistles and practiced. Until that point, I had only played indoors and to myself.

I was struck at how quiet the whistle sounded in the great outdoors! More surprising was that none of our tent inhabiting neighbors attempted to strangle me.

few days later, we found ourselves camping at 9,500 ft in the Colorado Rockies. Breath control was a little more tricky at this altitude, but it didn't seem too bad. Anyway, a guy from the next campsite over walked across and asked if I could play some Scottish tunes as he had scottish heritage. He didn't mind that I couldn't play any. Well, he called his young daughter and friend over and had me play a couple of tunes. I played the Leitrim Fancy and Boys Of Ballisodare. He was impressed with my playing (I must have hidden the fluffed notes quite well). As luck would have it, his campfire then needed tending as I had exhausted my memorized and practiced tunes. I could have played Si Bhearg Si Mhor and The Butterfly from memory, but they are very rough at present.

Anyway, I felt quite pleased with myself and my playing. It was fun.

Charlie
MichaelR
antispam: No

Post by MichaelR »

Congratulations on your first outdoor public performance!!
boatgirl

Post by boatgirl »